Stop me if you’ve heard this one.

This stuff only happens to me (or maybe on “reality” tv).  Sooooo, I was all excited to go on a breakfast date with a dude that I met online who was attentive and actually followed through (um, amazing!).  We’d met briefly for coffee and chatted several times.

When I arrived at the restaurant, it wasn’t open yet (thank goodness, because the only thing worse than what happened would have been having it happen in a crowded restaurant).  As I walked toward the dude (names have been changed to protect the guilty), a perfectly nice woman wandered over to where I stood.  I said to the dude, ”Hi! What a bummer the restaurant is closed.”  To which the woman replied, “Yes, it is a bummer that he just left my bed to come have breakfast with you.” [Insert my shocked look and open mouth here]. And then she turned to him and said calmly, “It’s over, dude.  Good luck with that.” And then she turned and hustled away with him hot on her heels.

And there I was, standing on the sidewalk, mouth open, wondering whether to laugh or cry.  So, I did both while calling my BFF and driving home as fast as I could.  Want to hear the best part of the story?  Make an appointment with me to hear which lyin’, cheatin’, formerly high-ranking city official this dude is related to…  Hilarious and horrible all at the same time.  Ah, dating…

Friends –help me out here — do you have any nice, single friends I should meet?  Hook a sister up!  You know where to find me.  🙂